The principal Buddhism images and the twelve zodiacal signs

The principal images are different depending on your birth year.
What is your the principal Buddhism image? Let’s check it.

example :
If your birth year is 1980, your twelve zodiacal sign is Monkey.
That’s why your the principal Buddhism image is Dainichi-Nyorai.

The twelve zodiacal signs are originally Chinese culture.
However this culture spread to East Asian countries with the times, and mixed with Buddhism.
In Japan, this is popular thing (except Jodo Shinshu school).

Manners at Buddhism temple

Don’t step on the threshold of Buddhism temple. We have to cross the threshold.
Japanese have word, it says “Shikii wo matagu (cross the threshold)”.

If the scale of temple is large, threshold is also large and high.
So, it’s hard to cross the threshold.

Japanese says that “Shikii ga Takai (threshold is high)”.

For that reason, this word (Shikii ga Takai) became an idiomatic expression.
It means difficult problem, hard to overcome.

The world biggest copper Buddhism statue exists at Todai-ji temple in Nara.
Thresholds of Todai-ji are high and wide:)